Green Card

A Green Card is a document that authorizes a person to live and work in the USA.

You are eligible for a Green Card if you have a status approved be USCIS, for example, Form I-130 (Family Based), Form I-589 (Asylum),Form I-129 (Business Immigration).

Most immigrants have to fill in “an application for a green card”, Form I-485 (official name is Application to Register Permanent Residence or Adjust Status), to receive a green card and US permanent resident status.

A Green Card is usually issued for 10 years. In 5 years after receiving a green card you are eligible to apply for citizenship (naturalization) – Form N-400 (for spouses of US citizens the term is three years after receiving a green card).

If you do not want to receive citizenship, but to renew your green card you can do it having filed Form I-90. This form is also used to replace a stolen, damaged or lost green card or if there was a misprint in a present one (due to your or immigration service fault), or if you have changed your last name.

If you get married with a US citizen, you usually receive a conditional green card for 2 years. You can replace it for a permanent one in 2 years. Submit Form I-751 for it.

Грин-карта


Грин-карта — это докуGreen Card /Грин Картамент, позволяющий человеку жить и
работать в Америке.

Чтобы получить green card, нужно иметь основание: одобренные иммиграционной службой статусы, например, по формам I-130 (семейная иммиграция),  I-589 (убежище), I-129 (бизнес-иммиграция).

Большинству иммигрантов для получения грин карты США и статуса постоянного жителя страны нужно заполнить “заявку на грин карту”, форму I-485 (официальное название — заявление на регистрацию постоянного места жительства или смену иммиграционного статуса).

Грин карту обычно дают на 10 лет. Обычно через 5 лет со дня выдачи грин карты можно подать заявление на получение гражданства (натурализация) — через форму N-400 (для супругов граждан США срок — 3 года со дня выдачи грин карты).

Если вы не хотите получать гражданство, а хотите продлить green card, это можно сделать с помощью формы i-90. Эта же форма используется, чтобы восстановить украденную, поврежденную или утерянную грин карту, а также если сведения в грин карте указаны с ошибками (по вашей вине или по вине иммиграционной службы) или вы сменили фамилию.  

Те, кто иммигрирует через брак, обычно получают грин карту на 2 года. Через 2 года ее можно заменить на постоянную, для этого нужно подать форму I-751.